Robin Bozian

Presidential Award

The Presidential Award recognizes individuals, law firms, or organizations that have made outstanding efforts to improve access to justice in Ohio.

2024 Recipient
Robin Bozian

Retired legal aid attorney Robin Bozian was recognized with the Presidential Award for her continued commitment to serving low-income Ohioans through her support and coordination of pro bono legal clinics in southeastern Ohio.

2023 – Misty Connors
2022 – Judge Andrew Logan
2021 – Janica Pierce Tucker
2020 – Gerry Greene
2019 – Robert Curry
2018 – Judge Luann Cooperrider and Judge Dean Wilson
2017 – John P. Gilligan
2016 – Paul D. Hancock
2015 – Judge Colleen A. Falkowski
2014 – GE Aviation Legal Organization
2013 – Bricker & Eckler LLP
2012 – Ohio State Bar Association
2011 – The Honorable Mary Jane Trapp
2010 – Laurie J. Pangle

Wayne Sarna

Murphy Award

The Denis Murphy Award honors the Foundation’s founding president, and recognizes outstanding leadership within Ohio’s legal aids.

2023 Recipient
Wayne Sarna

Wayne Sarna, staff attorney at Community Legal Aid, was recognized with the Denis J. Murphy Award for his exemplary leadership and advocacy for Ohioans, where in the past 20 years he helped 3,100 clients discharge $85 million of debt through bankruptcy.

2022 – B. Janelle Butler Phifer – Legal Aid of Western Ohio
2021– Miriam Sheline – Pro Seniors
2020 – Ann McGowan Porath –The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland
2019 – John Schrider – The Legal Aid Society of Southwest Ohio
2018 – Pamela Hayman-Weaner and Gary Weston – Legal Aid of Western Ohio
2017 – Tom Bedall – Pro Seniors
2016 – Elaine E. Fink – Legal Aid of Greater Cincinnati’s Children and Education Practice Group
2015 – Rhonda Moore – Pro Seniors, Ellis Jacobs – Advocates for Basic Legal Equality
2014 – Marie B. Curry – Community Legal Aid
2013 – Helenka Marculewicz – Greater Dayton Volunteer Lawyers Project
2012 – Peter Iskin – The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland
2010 – David Dawson – The Legal Aid Society of Cleveland

Rep. Kevin D. Miller

Voice of Justice Award

The Voice of Justice Award recognizes outstanding leadership and advocacy on behalf of low-income Ohioans who may need legal assistance.

2024 Recipient
Representative Kevin D. Miller

Rep. Kevin Miller was recognized with the Voice of Justice Award for leading efforts to double the appropriation of state dollars for Ohio’s legal aids from $1 million to $2 million over the biennium.

2023 – Sen. Matt Dolan

2022 – Sen. Nathan Manning

2019 – Rep. Dave Greenspan

2017  – Sen. Scott Oelslager

2015 – Rep. Kirk Schuring