The Ohio Access to Justice Foundation Presidential Award is presented annually to individuals, law firms, or organizations that have made outstanding efforts in improving access to justice in Ohio.

Past recipients include:

  • Janica Pierce Tucker (2021) for her service on the board of the Legal Aid Society of Columbus, and her work creating and volunteering at the legal clinic at the First Church of God in East Columbus;
  • Gerald Greene (2020) for his 17 years of service as an in-house volunteer attorney for the Legal Aid of Greater Cincinnati, and his commitment to resolving over 250 divorce and custody cases for his clients;
  • Robert Curry (2019) for his service as board president for Advocates of Basic Legal Equality and Legal Aid of Western Ohio, and his work in raising over $1.3 million dollars for the expansion of civil legal assistance in Ohio; and
  • Hon. Luann Cooperrider and Hon. Dean Wilson (2018) for establishing the Perry County Free Legal Clinic in collaboration with Southeastern Ohio Legal Services.

The nomination period for the award is now open. If you would like to nominate an individual, law firm, or organization for outstanding efforts in improving access to justice in Ohio, please submit your nomination by email to Sophia Chang at no later than Wednesday, November 24, 2021.

Your nomination should include the name of the individual or organization you are nominating and a brief statement (no more than 250 words) of why the individual or organization should be selected. You may submit more than one nomination. Letters of recommendation are welcomed but not required.

The Foundation Board President will review all nominations and make a final selection.

The Award will be presented during the 2022 Ohio State Bar Association Council of Delegates meeting in Columbus, Ohio.