Over 60 legal aid attorneys, board members, and staff gathered at the Ohio Statehouse on May 9 for Legal Aid Day, an event hosted by the Ohio Access to Justice Foundation that helps educate legislators about legal aid’s impact.

Since the first Legal Aid Day in 2013, legal aid and the Foundation have strengthened relationships with Ohio legislators, garnering support for legal aid’s work to increase safety, stability, and financial security for low-income Ohioans.

“Legal Aid Day is a great opportunity to meet legislators and share about legal aid while also learning about their priorities,” said Legal Aid Day attendee Missy LaRocco, pro bono director and managing attorney at Legal Aid of Western Ohio.

Also on May 9, Foundation leaders joined the Ohio State Bar Association and the Ohio Judicial Conference at the Statehouse to celebrate excellence in the legal profession. The Foundation presented the 2023 Presidential Award to attorney Misty Connors and the 2023 Voice of Justice Award to Senator Matt Dolan.

Throughout his career, Senator Dolan has been a vocal champion of equal justice for all. Most recently, during the public health emergency, Senator Dolan personally participated in the timely and effective distribution of federal funds to ensure Ohioans had access to critical financial resources to help them weather the pandemic.

As Finance Chair and Controlling Board member, Senator Dolan was active on nearly all pandemic-related funding, including shepherding amendments through the most recent funding bill, HB 45 of the 134th General Assembly.

“Senator Dolan’s leadership was life-changing for low-income Ohioans who faced a myriad of hardships, including eviction, foreclosure, and job loss during the health emergency,” said Angie Lloyd, the Foundation’s executive director. “We are so pleased to honor his extraordinary contributions with the Voice of Justice Award.”

The Ohio Access to Justice Foundation annually presents the Presidential, Voice of Justice, and Denis J. Murphy awards to outstanding leaders. Learn more about the Foundation’s awards.